Prison & Work Release
Troup County Correctional Institution
2508 Hamilton Rd.
LaGrange, Georgia 30241
The Troup County Prison has a maximum capacity of 372 inmates. Troup County Correctional Institution houses 274 state and 98 county inmates. State prisoners are assigned by the Georgia Department of Corrections through a yearly contract approved by the Board of Commissioners. The Department of Corrections pays the county $20 per day per state prisoner. County inmates are received from the local courts and are usually sentenced for up to 12 months in jail. Skilled and semi-skilled inmates are assigned to a variety of details under the supervision of state-certified correction officers who work for either the prison or the Road Department.
The prison is rated as a medium security institution which houses medium, minimum and trustee inmates.
Prison labor has saved county taxpayers millions of dollars by providing a ready labor force. Inmates perform a variety of functions for the county including:
• Mechanics (gas & diesel)
• Road Paving & Maintenance
• Building Construction
• Landscaping & Lawn Maintenance
• Animal Care
• Road Construction
• Building Maintenance
• Food Service
Inmates also attend mandatory and volunteer training offered after normal working hours involving substance abuse, victim's impact, family violence, GED and religious activities. Some classes require mandatory attendance prior to any consideration for parole.
Work Release Facts
Troup County Work Release
144 Sam Walker Dr..
LaGrange, Georgia 30241
The Troup County Work Release opened in 1995 and has a capacity of 60 county sentenced male inmates. These inmates must complete an application prior to being accepted into the work release program. Most inmates are received from the Troup County Jail after being sentenced by a Troup County court. Inmates accepted into the program must pay an application fee plus a daily room and board fee of $23. Inmates are allowed to travel to and from an approved job site with the remainder of their time spent at the Work Release Center. The minimum stay in the Center is 30 days up to 24 months. Certain offenders are not eligible for the Work Release Program. Those that cannot be accepted include: sex offenders, inmates with outstanding charges, mentally or physically handicapped inmates, and those who do not possess a job or transportation. For more information on this program, please contact Lt. Ruthy Moody at 706-883-1638 during normal business hours.
Policies & Other Documents
Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA)
Prison Rape Elimination Act Guidelines
Frequently Asked Questions
Are the prison inmates housed at the county jail on Sam Walker Dr.?
No, prison inmates are housed at the prison facility located on Hamilton Road across from the Georgia State Patrol Post - LaGrange.
Who operates and manages the prison?
The prison is a separate department under the control of the Board of Commissioners and the Georgia Department of Corrections. The Warden is the manager of the prison appointed by the Commissioners and approved by the State Board of Corrections.
What type of prisoner is housed at the prison?
State prisoners who have been classified by the Department of Corrections as either medium, minimum or trustee security may be housed at the facility. Only those prisoners who can work are housed at the prison. Some inmates serving misdemeanor sentences from the county jail are housed at the prison.
Who determines an inmate's release from prison?
State inmates receive their release through the State Board of Pardons and Paroles. County inmates receive dates of release from the sentencing judge or warden.
Can inmates be given money, packages, etc.?
No. Anything given to an inmate must have prior approval of the Warden. Anyone found violating this law is subject to prosecution of a felony with up to five years in prison. A quarterly package request is submitted by inmates in March, June, September and December to be approved by the Warden. Only package requests that have been approved may be sent to family members for receipt of a package.
When are inmates allowed visits?
Visitation is for immediate family only and visitors must be on the approved visitor's list. Visitors must have a picture identification. Visitation hours are:
Saturday and Sunday – 8:45 A.M. to 2:45 P.M.
County Holidays – 8:45 A.M. to 3 P.M.
For complete information regarding visitation, please call the Counselor's Office at 706-883-1720 from 8 A.M. to 5 P.M. Monday - Friday. The Counselor is responsible for approving all visitors.
What does it take to become a corrections officer?
You must be at least 18 years of age and be a high school graduate or have a GED. You must have a clean criminal and driving record, must pass a physical exam, a written pre-entrance exam, five weeks of academy training and a drug screening. Most officers start out working the night shift. Some weekend work is required. Available positions are posted on this website.